Governed by the Municipal Government Act, County Council is responsible for the growth, direction, and sustainability of The County of Northern Lights. This responsibility involves providing input into the municipality's programs and services (policy making) and ensuring that the administration provides the programs and services in the best possible way (program monitoring)

In the Municipal Government Act those duties are outlined as followed:

  1. To consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to council’s attention anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the county;
  2. To participate generally in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the county;
  3. To participate in council meetings, committee meetings and any other meetings that they are requested to attend on behalf of Council;
  4. To obtain information about the operation or administration of the county from the Chief Administrative Officer or his/her designate;
  5. To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a council or council committee meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public;
  6. To perform any other duties imposed by legislation or required by Council.

Councillors represent the interests of the constituents of their respective wards in addition to representing the interests of the County of Northern Lights as a whole. Council accomplishes this through their attendance at regularly scheduled Council meetings, maintaining effective communications within their wards and representing the County at other relevant forums and events.


Gary These
Ward 1 (Weberville / Stewart)

P.O. Box 7286
Peace River AB. T8S 1S9
Cell: 780-625-6668


Kayln Schug
Ward 2 (Warrensville / Lac Cardinal)

P.O. Box 1975
Grimshaw, AB T0H 1W0
Cell: 780-625-7694


Brenda Yasinski (Deputy Reeve)
Ward 3 (Dixonville / Chinook Valley)

P.O. Box 47
Dixonville, AB T0H 1E0
Home: 780-971-2248


Brent Reese
Ward 4 (Deadwood / Sunny Valley)

P.O. Box 153
North Star T0H 2T0
Cell: 780-836-0399



Gloria Dechant
Ward 5 (Breaking Point / North Star)

P.O. Box 57
Manning, AB T0H 2M0
Cell: 780-836-6578



Terry Ungarian (Reeve)
Ward 6 (Hotchkiss / Hawk Hills)

P.O. Box 504
Manning, AB T0H 2M0
Home: 780-836-2141
Cell: 780-836-5264


Linda Halabisky
Ward 7 (Keg River / Carcajou)

P.O. Box 4
Keg River, AB T0H 2G0
Home: 780-981-2292
Cell: 780-836-0652



For the Council Code of Conduct Click Here.


Vision & Mission Statement

It is the Vision of the Council of the County of Northern Lights, to be a great rural community of natural beauty and prosperity. 

It shall be the Mission of the County of Northern Lights to efficiently provide services and infrastructure to ensure the quality of life for residents.





Click here to view the 2023-2025 Strategic Plan for the County of Northern Lights.