Emergency Management

In accordance with the Emergency Management Act of Alberta, the County of Northern Lights and the Town of Manning have established a Municipal Emergency Management Joint Services Agency.  The Director of the Emergency Management is responsible for fulfilling the obligations of this position pursuant to the County and the Town of Manning Municipal Emergency Management Bylaws. 

Part of this mandate is the development and coordination of an overall program of preparedness for, response to, and recovery from, emergencies and disasters as well as assisting other municipalities to develop and maintain a high level of emergency preparedness.

The County of Northern Lights participates in the Peace Region Mutual Aid Agreement along with Northern Sunrise County, MDs of Smoky River and MD of Peace; the Towns of Peace River, Falher, Grimshaw, McLennan, High Level; and the Villages of Donnelly, Nampa and Berwyn. This Agreement provides for reciprocal support from all participants in the event that one party does not have adequate resources to deal with an emergency.

Additional detail is available in the following documents:

H1N1 Fact Sheet PDF


Contact Information:

Interim Director of Emergency Management: Theresa Van Oort
Office: 780-836-3348
E-mail: cao@countyofnorthernlights.com