South Regional Waterline Sod Turning

On Tuesday, July 17th the County of Northern Lights hosted a sod turning event to mark the beginning of a 31 million dollar south regional waterline project. The celebration began at 3:00 pm at the Warrensville Community Hall where representatives from the County of Northern Lights, Town of Peace River, Alberta Transportation, EOS (Project Contractors) and Wood (Project Engineers) conducted a ceremonial sod turning. Terry Ungarian, Reeve for County of Northern Lights had these words to say…

“About 12 years ago the County of Northern Lights in conjunction with the Town of Peace River applied for ‘Water for Life Funding’. It wasn’t until a year ago, that the County received notification that the second half of the funding was approved. Water for Life funding covers 75% of the total budgeted cost of the project; which will see the installation of approximately 61km of pipe from the Town of Peace River to the Hamlet of Dixonville plus two truckfill stations along the route.

This is a very exciting project for the County of Northern Lights. It will provide safe, potable drinking water for our southern wards. To me, it is very much like rural electrification of the rural area. Electricity was brought in in the fifties, natural gas in the seventies, and now we are bringing in potable water. It is very life changing for rural people.”

The South Regional Waterline is the single largest project the County of Northern Lights has ever undertaken.


For more information please contact:


Terry Ungarian, Reeve

County of Northern Lights

cell: 780.836.5264



Pictured above from left to right:

Terry MacEachern, Wood (Project Engineers); Jim McCuaig, Director of Engineering and Infrastructure, Town of Peace River; Trent McLaughlin, Director of Public Works, CNL; Karl Coates, EOS(Project Contractors); Ryan Konowalyk, Regional Director of Alberta Transportation; Irene Foster, EOS Financial Manager; Linda Halabisky, Councillor CNL; Deputy Reeve Brenda Yasinski, CNL; Councillor Arie Loogman, CNL; Chris Parker, CAO Town of Peace River; Tom Tarpey, Mayor Town of Peace River; Terry Ungarian, Reeve CNL; Councillor Colin Needham, Town of Peace River; Kevin Siemens, Utilities Supervisor, CNL.


Did You Know