The County of Northern Lights is located in the northwest section of the Province of Alberta (Longitude 118 o-0  / Latitude 57 o 28) in the North Peace Country.

The County land area is 20,745.45 square kilometres, located within Canada Census Division 17.

It is located in the Federal Riding of Grande Prairie - MacKenzie, represented by Member of Parliament Chris Warkentin: chris.warkentin@parl.gc.ca

It is located in two Alberta Constituencies as follows:

1) The constituency of Dunvegan – Central Peace, represented by the Honorable Margaret McCuaig-Boyd: dunvegan.centralpeace@assembly.ab.ca

2) The constituency of Peace River, represented by the Honorable Dan Williams: peace.river@assembly.ab.ca

The County Council Chambers reside in the County Services Building, located at 600 - 7th Ave NW in the Town of Manning.

The County administers and provides services to the following hamlets: Dixonville, North Star, Notikewin, Deadwood, and Keg River.